Tennis Events

Be Courtside for a Major Tennis Tournament

French Open 2010

Tennis Holidays are now offering packages (including travel and accommodation) to some of the world’s major international tennis tournaments.

Australian Open

Australian OpenThe Australian Open is a major tennis tournament held annually over the last fortnight of January in Melbourne, Australia. First held in 1905, the tournament is chronologically the first of the four Grand Slam tennis events of the year – the other three being the French Open, Wimbledon and the US Open. It features men’s and women’s singles; men’s, women’s, and mixed doubles and junior’s championships; as well as wheelchair, legends and exhibition events. Since 1988 the tournament has been played on hard courts at Melbourne Park. Read More

French Open

120px-Frenchopen2The French Open (also called the Roland Garros) is the most prestigious event of the clay court season and is held at the Stade Roland Garros in Paris. The tournament is held over two weeks between late May and early June. The tennis is always fiercely competitive and the french crowds create a great atmosphere. In 2014 Rafael Nadal recorded his ninth conquest on the clay in the past decade and who would bet against another title for the King of Clay at the 2015 event. In the women’s event Maria Sharapova held off the challenge from rising star Simona Halep, the talented Romanian will be hoping to go one better in 2015. Read More

US Open

US OpenThe US Open is a hard court tournament which has it’s roots in a men’s championship stretching back to 1881. In 1987 the tournament became the fourth tennis major sitting alongside the Australian Open, French Open and Wimbledon.The tournament is held annually in late August and early September over a two-week period. The US Open is played on the hard courts of the Billie Jean King Tennis Center in New York City. Interestingly the tournament has tiebreaks in every set, including the last set. The other three Grand Slams do not have a tie break in the last set. Read More


The Championships, WimbledonThe Wimbledon Championships were first held at the All England Club in 1877. This grass court tournament takes place over two weeks in late June and early July and is widely regarded as the ultimate prize in tennis. No British summer would be complete without the SW19 traditions of strawberries and cream, strict white dress code for players and spotting celebrities in the Royal Box. In 2014 Novak Djokovic and Petra Kvitova were triumphant. For 2015 Britain’s Andy Murray, in scintillating form, will be trying to win his 2nd Wimbledon and 3rd Grand Slam title. Read More

ATP Tour Finals

ATP Tour FinalsThe ATP World Tour Finals (also known as the Barclays ATP World Tour Finals for sponsorship reasons) is a professional tennis tournament played on indoor hard courts, and is held annually in November at the O2 Arena in London, United Kingdom. The ATP World Tour Finals are the season-ending championships of the Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP) World Tour, featuring the top eight singles players and doubles teams of the ATP Rankings. Read More

Sydney International

Sydney InternationalThe Sydney International, sponsored as the Apia International Sydney as of 2012, is a professional tennis tournament in Sydney, New South Wales, Australia. The tournament is played annually at the Sydney Olympic Park Tennis Centre in Homebush. Read More

WTA Tour Championships

WTA Tour ChampionshipsThe WTA Tour Championships is a tennis tournament played annually at the end of the season for the top-ranked players on the Women’s Tennis Association (WTA) tour. The month, city and number of players has changed since the first edition in 1972. Since 2003 there have been eight singles players divided into two groups, and four doubles teams. The WTA Tour Championships is generally considered to be the fifth most prestigious event on the women’s tour after the four Grand Slam tournaments. It also has the largest prize money and ranking points after the Grand Slams. Read More

Swiss Indoors ATP

Swiss IndoorsThe Swiss Indoors is a professional tennis tournament played on indoor hard courts. Originally an event of the Grand Prix tennis circuit between 1970 and 1989. It is currently part of the World Tour 500 Series of the ATP Tour. It is held annually at the St. Jakobshalle in Basel, Switzerland, in October, since 1995. Read More

Kremlin Cup

Kremlin CupThe Kremlin Cup (Кубок Кремля) is a professional tennis tournament played on indoor hard courts. It is currently part of the ATP World Tour 250 series of the ATP Tour and is a Premier Tournament on the WTA Tour. It has been held annually at the Olympic Stadium in Moscow, Russia, since 1990.
The Kremlin Cup was first created in 1990 becoming the first international professional tennis tournament to be held in Russia. The tournament started as a men’s only event during the first years of its run, before it became a joint event in 1996. Read More

Brisbane International

Brisbane InternationalThe Brisbane International is a professional tennis tournament played on outdoor hard courts in Brisbane, Queensland. It is currently part of the ATP World Tour 250 series of the Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP) World Tour and of the WTA Premier tournaments of the Women’s Tennis Association (WTA) Tour. It is held annually in January at the Queensland Tennis Centre just before the first Grand Slam tournament of the season, the Australian Open. It is owned by Tennis Australia. Read More

Main image courtesy FLICKR user: Yann Caradec